Accountable Systems Lab

The mission of the Accountable Systems Lab is to enable real-world complex systems to be accountable for their behavior, especially as they pertain to privacy, fairness, and security.

A specific focus is on accountable data-driven systems. Related efforts explore accountability in cryptographic protocols and cyberphysical systems.

Lab web page (under construction)

Director: Anupam Datta

PhD Students: Gihyuk Ko (ECE), Sophia Kovaleva (ECE), Caleb Lu (ECE), Shayak Sen (CSD)

Postdocs: Arthur Azevedo de Amorin, Piotr Mardziel

Alumni: Deepak Garg (Postdoc 2009-11; Tenured faculty MPI-SWS), Limin Jia (Postdoc 2009-11; Associate Research Professor CMU ECE and INI), Jason Franklin (CSD PhD 2012; Deal Team Partner at Andreessen Horowitz), Michael Tschantz (CSD PhD 2012; Senior Researcher, ICSI Berkeley), Dilsun Kaynar (Postdoc 2007-12; Assistant Teaching Professor CMU CSD), Jeremiah Blocki (CSD PhD 2014; Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University), Arunesh Sinha (ECE PhD 2014; Research Faculty, Computer Science and Engineering, University of Michigan), Omar Chowdhury (Postdoc 2013-14; Assistant Professor of Computer Science at University of Iowa), Divya Sharma (ECE PhD 2015; Google), Yair Zick (Assistant Professor, Computer Science, National University of Singapore), Amit Datta (ECE PhD 2018; Snap Inc.)