Washington's Landing
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2006)
genre: wind symphony OR  brass band
length: 1 movement, 8:00 minutes
orchestration: 3 fl(pic), 2 ob, 3 cl (at least 2 per part),
bs-cl, bn, cbn; 2 a-sax, t-sax, b-sax;
4 hn, 4 tpt, 3 tbn(bs), euph, tba; 4 perc
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 28 March 2007
Carnegie Mellon Wind EnsembleDenis Colwell, conductor
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: With a delightful urban air, "Washington's Landing" switches gears smoothly through diverse city moods in a cosmopolitan landscape painted with warmth, humor, and excitement. Composed in 2006 for Pittsburgh's River City Brass Band in honor of its 25th Anniversary season, "Washington's Landing" reappeared as a wind symphony in 2007. Denis Colwell directed both premieres. — Martha Tablewight
source: nancygalbraith.com