Four Nature Canticles
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2011)
authors: Emily Dickinson, Robert Browning, James Joyce, Robert Frost
genre: SSA choir, chamber orchestra
length: 4 movements, 20:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
orchestration: SSA (div); fl, ob, cl, bn, hn;
vln1, vln2, vla, vcl, cb; pno
movements: 1. A something on a summer's Day – Emily Dickinson
2. My Star – Robert Browning
3. From Dewy Dreams – James Joyce
4. A Prayer in Spring – Robert Frost
world premiere: 22 April 2012
Lyrica Chamber Music; Adam Waite, conductor
Kent Place Chamber Singers; Edel Thomas, music director
Presbyterian Church of Chatham Township, Chatham, New Jersey
program notes: "Four Nature Canticles" was commissioned by Lyrica Chamber Orchestra for its 25th anniversary concert season, and will be premiered on April 22, 2012 in Chatham New Jersey. The new work, scored for women's choir and chamber orchestra, will be conducted by Adam Waite. Lyrica will be joined by the Kent Place Chamber Singers. The concert program, titled "The Art of Composition," also includes a new work by Alex Weston. Both Waite and Weston are graduates in composition from the Carnegie Mellon School of Music where they were taught by Professor Nancy Galbraith.
recordings: Lyrica Chamber Orchestra
Kent Place Singers
Adam Waite & Edel Thomas, directors