Physics for future Presidents

Assignments

 

Due Type Assignment
     
Mon. Aug. 26 Reading Start reading of Chapter 1
Wed. Aug. 28 Task Start bringing your clicker to lecture. You can find more information in the CMU Student Guide to Clicker.
Thu. Aug. 29 Reading Read the "Units Survival Guide".
Thu. Aug. 29 Homework 1 Solve problems 1–5 of the "units and magnitudes" worksheet and hand in your results in recitation. (The remaining 6 problems will be talked about in Thursday's recitation.)
Wed. Sep. 4 Reading Start reading Chapter 2
Thu. Sep. 5 Homework 2 Write an Essay on the "Hydrogen Economy" and bring a draft version to recitation.
Fri. Sep. 6 Homework 2 Hand in your finalized version of the essay on the Hydrogen Economy in class.
Mon. Sep. 9 Homework 3 Solve the problem sheet on light bulb efficiency pay-off and hand in your solution in class.
Wed. Sep. 11 Reading Start reading Chapter 3
Thu. Sep. 12 Homework 4 Write an essay about "Energy in the News" and bring a draft version to recitation.
Fri. Sep. 13 Homework 4 Hand in your finalized version of the essay on energy in the news in class.
Mon. Sep. 16 Homework 5 Solve the problem sheet on energy and gravity and hand in your solution in class.
Thu. Sep. 19 Homework 6 Write an essay about "Physics in the Movies" and bring a draft version to recitation.
Fri. Sep. 20 Homework 6 Hand in your finalized version of the essay on Movie Physics in class.
Fri. Sep. 20 Reading Start reading Chapter 4
Mon. Sep. 23 Homework 7 Solve the problem sheet on orbits and momentum and hand in your solution in class.
Thu. Sep. 26 Homework 8 Solve the problem sheet on radiation dose and hand in your solution in class.
Mon. Sep. 30 Homework 9 Write a press release statement about some hypothetical nuclear accident. Due in class.
Fri. Oct. 4 Homework 10 Solve the problem sheet on Nuclear Reactor Design and hand in your solution on Friday.
Thu. Oct. 10 Homework 11 Solve the problem sheet on Power consumption and hand in your solution on Friday.
Thu. Oct. 17 Homework 12 Solve the problem sheet on extension cords and hand in your solution in recitation.
Mon. Oct. 21 Reading Begin reading the seminar topics list. You will soon need to pick a topic and a group!
Thu. Oct. 24 Homework 13 Solve the problem sheet on typical wavelengths and hand in your solution in recitation.
Thu. Oct. 31 Homework 14 Do the homework problem on light is a wave and hand in your solution in recitation.
Mon. Nov. 4 Homework 15 Answer the 5 questions about light and hand in your solution in class.
Thu. Nov. 7 Homework 16 Do the homework problem on the flag on the moon and hand in your solution in recitation.
Thu. Nov. 21 Homework 17 Answer the five short questions about climate and hand in your solutions in recitation
Thu. Dec. 5 Homework 18 Do the homework problem on the weight of sunlight and hand in your solution in recitation
Mon. Dec 16 Task Do the faculty course evaluation, alert Prof. Deserno via email, gain 5 extra points.