The Oak
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2013)
author: Alfred Lord Tennyson
genre: SATB (a cappella)
length: 1 movement, 3:45 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440

world premiere: November 15, 2013
Carnegie Mellon Concert ChoirMaria Sensi Sellner, conductor
Carnegie Music Hall • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: "The Oak" was commissioned by Carnegie Mellon University for the Investiture Ceremony of Dr. Subra Suresh, 9th President of the university.

  The Oak
by Alfred Lord Tennyson
Live thy Life,
Young and old,
Like yon oak,
Bright in spring,
Living gold;

Then; and then
Gold again.

All his leaves
Fall'n at length,
Look, he stands,
Trunk and bough
Naked strength.