Rustic Breezes (string orchestra)
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2022)
genre: solo flute concerto with string orchestra
length: 1 movement, 8:30 minutes
orchestration: solo flute; piano; strings
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
audio/video: [available after premiere]

world premiere: 6 November 2022
Stephen Schultz, amplified Baroque flute
Carnegie Mellon Baroque EnsembleDaniel Nesta Curtis, conductor
Kresge Recital Hall • Carnegie Mellon Univeraity • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes:

"Rustic Breezes" was commissioned by the Galax Quartet, who premiered the work at the Berkeley Festival & Exhibition in June 2018, with renowned Baroque flutist, Stephen Schultz.

In 2022 Galbraith rescored the work for solo flute, piano and string orchestra. It will be premiered in November 2022 by the Carnegie Mellon Baroque Ensemble, with Schultz, the group's founding director, featured on amplified Baroque flute.