Piano Sonata Nº 2
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2017)
genre: solo piano
length: 3 movements, 17:30 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440
world premiere: 9 June 2017
Eric Fung, piano
Lebanon Valley College, Anneville, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Piano Sonata No 2" was commissioned by the Pennsylvania Music Teachers Association for their State Conference in June 2017 at Lebanon Valley College. It was premiered by pianist Eric Fung.
composer's notes: Movement 1 of the sonata is infused with American-sounding harmonies and syncopated, dancing rhythms. Movement 2 was written during a time of great personal tragedy and loss. Although not specifically programmatic, the atmosphere of melancholy and longing are present. Movement 3 is a frolicking scherzo. Following a playful, staccato 7/8 section, the movement ends with a flourish as in the beginning. —NG
comments: "The first movement is full of rhythmic wonders (I particularly love playing the 'swing' section). The beautiful second movement explores a palette of tonal colors from the instrument; and, the grand finale is simply exuberant!" —Eric Fung