composer: Nancy Galbraith (2022)
genre(s): symphony orchestra
length: 1 movement, 7:15 minutes
orchestration: pic(fl3), 3fl, 2ob, 2cl, bs-cl, 2bn;
4hn, 3tpt, 2tbn, 1b-tbn, tba;
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 3 April 2022
Carnegie Mellon All University OrchestraJeffrey Klefstad, conductor
Carnegie Music Hall • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes:

A steady pulse of restless energy persists throughout the musical landscape of Photons, sometimes dancing weightlessly throughout the orchestra's tutti sections, and other times shimmering in barely perceptible undercurrents as various combos of winds and strings take turns coloring the air with light and sound. A feast of musical textures and timbres, Photos hits the ground running with no introduction, moves swiftly and effortlessly between the peaks and valleys of its free-spirited waveform, then ends abruptly as the full orchestral conclusion dissolves into the ether. Photons was commissioned by and dedicated to Carnegie Mellon University's All University Orchestra. — Martha Tablewight