Passion According to St. Matthew
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2014)
text: The Gospel According to Matthew (NRSV)
genre: chorus/orchestra
length: 18 movements, 60:00 minutes
movements: (see below)
orchestration: contralto, tenor, SATB;
solo tpt, pno, org, timp, perc, strings
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440

video excerpts: 1&2     6      8      15
world premiere: 28 March 2015
Maestri SingersPittsburgh Festival OrchestraThomas Octave, conductor
St. Andrews Episcopal Church • Pittsburgh, PA
UK premiere: 18 June 2015
featuring musicians from:
University of Salford (UK) • St Vincent College (US)
Thomas Octave, conductor • Manchester Cathedral • Manchester, UK
program notes: "Passion According to St. Matthew" features a contralto solist singing the role of the Evangelist and a tenor soloist singing the role of Jesus. A solo trumpet is highlighted througout as the SATB chorus sings various aspects of the text. The sting orchestra performs with piano, organ, timpani and percussion.


01. Opening
02. The Plot to Kill Jesus
03. The Anointing at Bethany
04. Judas Agrees to Betray Jesus
05. The Passover with the Disciples
06. The Institution of the Lord's Supper
07. Peter's Denial Foretold
08. Jesus Prays in Gethsemane
09. The Betrayal and Arrest of Jesus
10. Jesus Before the High Priest
11. Peter's Denial of Jesus
12. Interlude: On Another's Sorrow (Blake)
13. Jesus Brought Before Pilate
14. The Soldiers Mock Jesus
15. The Crucifixion of Jesus
16. The Death of Jesus
17. The Burial of Jesus
18. Ending