Other Sun
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2006)
genres: electroacoustic; chamber
length: 3 movements, 12:00 minutes
orchestration: solo amplified flute (with reverb & delay pedals),
amplified cello quartet; piano/harpsichord,
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 22 November 2009
Stephen Schultz, electroacoustic Baroque flute; Cello Fury, electric cellos
Brandon Schantz, percussion; William Yanesh, piano, harpsichord
Sang Mok Lee, sound design
Kresge Recital Hall, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
movements: 1. Journey    2. Between Stars    3. Other Sun
program notes: "Other Sun" completes a trilogy of electroacoustic chamber works composed by Nancy Galbraith for world-renowned Baroque flutist Stephen Schultz, and the second work to include Pittsburgh's innovative cross-genre electric cello ensemble, Cello Fury (formerly Cellofourte). The first two works include Traverso Mistico, which premiered in 2006 with the Carnegie Mellon Contemporary Ensemble, and Night Train, which premiered in 2008. In "Other Sun" Schultz makes use of looper pedals played through a guitar effects processor to produce reverberating contrapuntal sounds from his Baroque-era flute. Cello Fury was joined by percussionist Brandon Schantz and pianist William Yanish at the premiere performance in November 2009 at Carnegie Mellon University.
press bytes: The first movement of Other Sun, the disc's title piece, is wonderfully lively and sonically fresh; the second is pretty and lyrical, while the third introduces a slightly jazzy element. — Fanfare Magazine
  "Other Sun"... is motivated by bright melodies and energetic percussion, and shadowed with rich sonorities. — Pittsburgh City Paper
recordings: Nancy Galbraith ~ Other Sun
Centaur Records • 2011 • CR 3106
source: nancygalbraith.com