A New Life
composer: Nancy Galbraith (1997)
genre: sonata for bass trombone and piano
or sonata for trombone and piano
length: 1 movement, 10:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 3 April 1997
Christopher Balas (bass trombone) • Ralph Zitterbart (piano)
Mellon Institute • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: "A New Life" was commissioned by Dr. J. Paul Balas in loving memory of his wife Karen Balas. The work was premiered by Dr. Balas' nephew Christopher Balas at his Senior Trombone Recital at Carnegie Mellon University.
composer's note: Although composed as a memorial, "A New Life" is primarily joyful rather than elegiac. The piano opens a mysterious, prayerful introduction, and is soon joined with reflective, lyrical passages from the trombone. The meditative mood ends abruptly with the piano sharply announcing the rhythmic and energetic middle section. The trombone enters with lively thematic material that is richly woven throughout the main body of the work. Following a final flourish, the piano suddenly returns with the opening material, this time attended by a plaintive farewell from the trombone.— N.G.
source: nancygalbraith.com