Music, when soft voices die
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2007/2008)
author: Percy Bysshe Shelley
genres: 1. baritone solo; piano
2. a cappella chamber choir
length: 1 movement, 4:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
audio/video: (solo)    (satb)    (satb)

solo premiere: December 2, 2007
Thomas Octave, baritone • Nancy Galbraith, piano
PNC Recital Hall, Duquesne University • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
choral premiere: February 27, 2009
The Pittsburgh CamerataRebecca Rollet, artistic director
Mt. Lebanon United Lutheran Church • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes:

"Music, when soft voices die" was commissioned by baritone Thomas Octave in loving memory of his grandfather, Raymond Vagnoni, and his mentor, mezzo-soprano Mimi Lerner.

In 2008 the Pittsburgh Camerata commissioned an a cappella choral version, which the group premiered in early 2009 in four subscription concerts.


  Music, when soft voices die
Music, when soft voices die,
Vibrates in the memory;
Odours, when sweet violets sicken,
Live within the sense they quicken.
Rose leaves, when the rose is dead,
Are heap'd for the belovèd's bed;
And so thy thoughts, when thou art gone,
Love itself shall slumber on.