Midnight Stirring
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2015)
genre: chamber orchestra OR  flute choir
length: 1 movement, 7:00 minutes
orchestration: 2ob, 2hn, strings
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 1 October 2015
Chamber Orchestra of PittsburghEdward Leonard, conductor
Chatham University • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Midnight Stirring" was commissioned by the Columbia Flute Choir for their 2015 concert appearance at the 43rd Annual National Flute Convention in Washington DC. The work was rescored, by the composer, for the Chamber Orchestra of Pittsburgh, conducted by Edward Leonard.
composer's notes:

"Midnight Stirring" begins with a solo violin melody followed by low chords, reflecting a slightly ominous atmosphere. The opening unfolds into a livelier ostinato, over which a melody, harmonized with rich 7th chords, is stated. Although primarily melodic, the music incorporates the use of many lively rhythmic grooves and textures.