Love's Philosophy
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2005)
author: Percy Bysshe Shelley
genre: duet: soprano & piano
length: 1 movement, 5:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
audio sample:

premiere: November 20, 2005
Eve Miedel, soprano • Mark Carver, piano
Kresge Recital Hall • Carnegie Mellon University • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Love's Philosophy" was composed for soprano Eve Miedel and pianist Mark Carver, and was premiered at Ms. Miedel's Senior Recital at Carnegie Mellon University.

  Love's Philosophy
The fountains mingle with the river,
     And the rivers with the ocean;
The winds of heaven mix forever
     With a sweet emotion;
Nothing in the world is single;
     All things by a law divine
In another's being mingle—
     Why not I with thine?
See, the mountains kiss high heaven,
     And the waves clasp one another;
No sister flower could be forgiven
     If it disdained its brother;
And the sunlight clasps the earth,
     And the moonbeams kiss the sea;—
What are all these kissings worth,
     If thou kiss not me?