Interrupted Atmosphere
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2019)
genre: chamber music: sextet
length: 3 movements, 17:45 minutes
orchestration: fl, ob, hn, vl, vcl, pno
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
world premiere: 10 February 2020
Dimitri Papadimitriou, piano
Pittsburgh Symphony principles:
Lorna McGhee, flute
Cynthia DeAlmeida, oboe
William Cabalero, horn
Jeremy Black, violin
Anne Martindale-Williams, cello
Kresge Theater • Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

movements: 1. Agitated Groove    2. Uneasy Vision    3. Awakening
program notes: "Interrupted Atmosphere" was commissioned for the Carnegie Mellon Chamber Series concert titled "Music of Steel – Celebrating Pittsburgh-based Composers" in February 2020. It was premiered by five principal players from the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra who are also faculty members at the Carnegie Mellon School of Music, along with faculty pianist, Dimitri Papadimitriou. Other Pittsburgh composers represented on the concert included Leonardo Balada, David Stock, Reza Vali, and Marilyn Taft Thomas.
composer's note: "Interrupted Atmosphere" begins with a rhythmic groove containing irregular meters. This groove is interrupted by areas of softer and more lyrical timbres and melodies, though the rhythmic intensity remains throughout the entire first movement. Movement II begins with an eerie stillness that moves in and out of various transcendental moments, then explodes into an unexpected forte passage near the end. A high repeated eighth note in the violin moves attacca into Movment III, which begins with layered rhythmic motives developing into a jubilant conclusion. — N.G.