For Behold From Henceforth
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2019)
"The Annunciation"
text: Gospel of Luke 1:46
genre: Solo Soprano + Orchestra
length: 1 movement, 3:50 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 21 December 2019
Meghan DeWald, conductor
Westmoreland Symphony Orchestra
Maria Sensi Sellner, Conductor
The Palace Theater • Greensburg, Pennsylvania
program notes: "For Behold From Henceforth" is the expansion of a theme taken from the first movement of the composer's choral suite Magnificat, composed in 2002. The full text from the Gospel of Luke (1:46-55), commonly refered to as "the Magnificat," is considered by many to be the most poetic and eloquent passage in the New Testament of the Bible. It has been celebrated throughout the ages by many great composers, including Josquin des Prez (1521), Giovanni Palestrina (1525), Thomas Tallis (1585), Tomás Luis de Victoria (1611), Antonio Vivaldi (1741), J.S. Bach (1750), Wolfgang Mozart (1791), Franz Schubert (1828), Felix Mendelssohn (1847), Ralph Vaughan Williams (1958), and Arvo Pärt (1989).
text: For behold from henceforth all generations shall call me blessed.
For He that is mighty hath done to me great things,
And holy is his name.