Febris Ver (Spring Fever)
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2011)
"Cherry Blossom II"
© Yevgenia Watts (2010)
genre: wind ensemble
length: 1 movement, 8:15 minutes
orchestration: pic, 3fl, 2ob, 2cl, b-cl, 2bn, contrabn;
2a-sax, t-sax, b-sax;
4hn, 4tpt, 3tbn(bs), 2tbn, b-tbn, 2euph, tba;
4perc, pno, contrabass
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440
audio/video/score:       (live)

world premiere: 18 February 2012
IUP Wind EnsembleJason Worzbyt, conductor
Fisher Auditorium, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; Indiana, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Febris Ver" ("Spring Fever") is a variegated post-minimalist landscape that evokes the sensuous essences of spring. The aromas, colors, flavors, and aural delights of Earth's perennial rebirths are interwoven with chorale-like textures, first introduced by the brass, then playfully tossed about by the rest of the ensemble. The work was composed for the College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) 2012 Eastern Division Conference at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, where it was premiered by the IUP Wind Symphony led by Jason Worzbyt.
source: nancygalbraith.com