Epiphany and Meditation
subtitle: for Organ and Wind Ensemble
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2020)
genre: organ + wind ensemble
length: 1 movement, 11:10 minutes
orchestration: organ + pic(dbl fl2), 6fl, 3cl, b-cl, 2bn;
a-sax, t-sax, bar-sax; 4tpt, 4hn, 2tbn, euph, 2tba;
timp, 5perc; piano
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044
mail@subitomusic.com • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 1 April 2023
Carnegie Mellon Wind EnsembleStephen Story, conductor
Edward Alan Moore, organ
East Liberty Presbyterian Church • Pittsburgh, PENNSYLVANIA
program notes:

Epiphany and Meditation is not a concerto per se, as the organ and ensemble are much more fully integrated than a traditional concerto. That said, the outer sections do abound with delightfully virtuostic passages from the organ. The opening "epiphany" is, as one might expect, a full-bodied elation of rich, exciting sound from a mostly tutti wind orchestra, beautifully in sync with the full range of pipes from the organ. The extended "meditation" at the heart of the work lies between two pillars in a timeless aural landscape full of facination, mystery and wonder. All the colors of the ensemble delight the senses as they serenely intertwine in an introspective, peaceful fabric. The concluding material is as elating and satisfying as the opening, but with an expanded view to a new horizon. —Martha Tablewight

composer's notes:

The opening section of Epiphany and Meditation begins with a large and dense tutti ensemble with full organ alternating with lighter percussion textures that underlie rhythmic brass. The section concludes with an epiphany or revelation, realized through rich polytonal tutti chords. These chords dissolve into a meditation, introduced by a repeating figure in 5/8 occurring in the piano. Mysterious textures and melodies weave throughout, notably an alto flute solo answered by a solo in the organ. A transition back to reflections of the opening is introduced with a rhythmic ostinato in the high piano doubled with the organ. —Nancy Galbraith

source: nancygalbraith.com