Aeolian Muses
composer: Nancy Galbraith (1993)
genre: trio: clarinet, bassoon & piano
length: 1 movement, 11:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440

world premiere: 16 March 1994 • Trío Neos
Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Aeolian Muses" was commissioned by Trío Neos in 1993 with a grant from Fideicomiso para la Cultura Mexico/USA.
composer's note:

The work is divided into two large sections. The first section is 'allegro' with a lyrical duet between the clarinet and bassoon, accompanied by rhythmic motives in the piano. This section is preceded by a slow introduction which presents material that will also be used to link the two larger sections. The second section is 'presto' with a repeated note figure in the piano, and staccato motives in the clarinet and bassoon. — N.G.

press bytes:

Galbraith's "Aeolian Muses" is an attractive piece, opening with lonely interweaving woodwind melodies over the piano's modal – aeolian, one assumes – block chords, and proceeding through increasingly active dance-like sections to a kind of delirious burlesque conclusion. — San Antonio News

recordings: Nancy Galbraith | Four Chamber Works
ÉLAN Recordings ♦ 1999 ♦ CD 82414
Thomas Thompson (clarinet), Will Genz (bassoon),
Ralph Zitterbart (piano)
  Trío Neos | Mujeres de las Américas
Quindecim Recordings ♦ 2000
Eleanor Weingartner (clarinet), Wendy Holdaway (bassoon),
Ana María Tradatti (piano)
  Trifecta | Cumulus Accumulation
ASIN: B00W88OBO8 ♦ 2015
Sarah Whitney (violin), Angela Pickett (viola), Laura Metcalf (cello)