composer: Nancy Galbraith (2006)
genre: sextet: ob/E-hn, a-fl, b-cl,vcl, mar/vib, piano
length: 4 movements, 18:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
movements: 1. Reflections
2. Shadows
3. Hymn (English horn)
4. Finale
world premiere: 22 February 2009
Amy Galbraith Ogburn (oboe/English horn); Francesca Arnone (alto flute)
Rachael Stutzman (bass clarinet); Simon Cummings (cello)
George Willis (marimba/vibraphone); Matt Gillespie (piano)
Laughlin Music Hall, Chatham University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Reflections" is a chamber work in four movements written for Amy Galbraith Ogburn (the composer's daughter) for her doctoral recital at West Virginia University in the spring of 2010. Ms. Ogburn has completed oboe performance degrees at Ohio University (BM),the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (MM), and West Virginia University (DMA). Ms. Ogburn is in great demand as a performer for orchestras, chamber ensembles, and as a soloist. For six years she taught oboe and music classes at Mahidol University in Thailand. She presently teaches at Columbus State University in Georgia.