composer: Nancy Galbraith (2002)
text source: "Gospel of Luke"
genre: Concert Choir or Chamber Choir (accompanied)
length: 7 movements, 32:00 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
orchestration: SATB; strings
SATB; organ; chamber strings
SATB; organ
movements: 1. My soul doth magnify the Lord
2. For He that is mighty
3. And His mercy is on them
4. He hath showed strength
5. He hath put down the mighty
6. As He spake to our forefathers
7. Glory be to the Father
world premiere: 15 December 2002
Bel Voce & Music Gettysburg Festival Choir; Teresa Bowers, conductor
Lutheran Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
program notes: "Magnificat" was commissioned by Music Gettysburg in 2002 for a Lutheran Theological Seminary program titled "A Christmas Offering." In 2004, it was featured at the 7th Festival of Women Composers International in a performance by the Carnegie Mellon Repertory Chorus, conducted by Robert Page.