Nocturno – in memory of the missing
composer: Nancy Galbraith (2013)
Arianna String Quartet
genre: solo flute & string quartet
length: 8:40 minutes
publisher: Subito Music Publishing (ASCAP)
60 Depot Street, Verona, NJ 07044 • 973-857-3440
world premiere: 21 January 2014
Alberto Almarza (flute), Arianna String Quartet
Festival of Music; Santa Catarina, Brazil
program notes:

Movement 2 from Galbraith's Atacama Sonata, arranged for string quartet and premiered by the Arianna String Quartet at the Festival of Music in Santa Catarina, Brazil in 2014. The subtitle “in memory of the missing” honors the victims of political violence who disappeared in Argentina's Atacama Desert in the latter part of the 20th century.

Nancy Galbraith ~ Atacama
Albany Records • 2003 • TROY556
Alberto Almarza, flute
Luz Manriquez, piano