C Internal Combustion D
performers: IUP Wind Ensemble
Jack Stamp, conductor

larger image

program: [1] Aubrey Fanfare – Jack Stamp
[2] Partita – Robert Linn
[3] Elfin ThunderboltNancy Galbraith
[4] Windsprint – James Staples
[5] Chant and Toccata – Bruce Yurko
[6] The Thunderer – Ira Hearshen
[7] Synergy! – Aldo Fore
[8] En Memoria de Chano Pozo – David Amram
[9] Internal Combustion – David Gillingham
press bytes:

"Nancy Galbraith (b. 1951) delivers a high-energy score with her Elfin Thunderbolt (1998). The music drives hard from its opening to a lullaby-like woodwind passage about two-thirds of the way through. The dreaminess is dispatched by the arrival of a snare drum that slowly ratchets the excitement level back to that of the work's opening."
—Fanfare Magazine

source: nancygalbraith.com