C New Energy From the Americas D
performers: Overtures and Dances from Operas – E. Alonso-Crespo
Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra, E. Alonso-Crespo, conductor

larger image

  Piano Concerto No. 1 – Nancy Galbraith
Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra
Keith Lockhart, conductor
Ralph Zitterbart, piano
program: [1] Juana, la loca: Overture – Eduardo Alonso-Crespo
[2] Yubarta: Overture – Eduardo Alonso-Crespo
[3] Juana, la loca: Ballet Music – Eduardo Alonso-Crespo
[4] Putzi: Mephisto Waltz – Eduardo Alonso-Crespo
Piano Concerto No. 1Nancy Galbraith
[5] movement I
[6] movement II
[7] movement III
press bytes: A formidable work for piano in three movements, this is an equally virtuoso piece for orchestra, and a welcome addition to the concerto literature of this century.
—Cincinnati Inquirer
  The music itself certainly lives up to the meaning of the disc's overall title—New Energy From the Americas—in that an unconstrained flow of rhythmic and orchestrational flash and momentum characterizes both works.
—Fanfare Magazine
  Eduardo Alonso-Crespo and Nancy Galbraith are featured in five delightful compositions. Both composers are incredibly eclectic, showing influences from the eerie-humored waltzes of Prokofiev to the minimalism of John Adams.
—Wet Paint
source: nancygalbraith.com