## **DICKSON PRIZE IN SCIENCE AWARD RECIPIENTS**

(Note: The year designates the formal award year, not always the year the year in which the award was presented)

2015	Judea Pearl	University of California, Los
-	(Artificial Intellegence)	Angeles
2014	Joseph M. DeSimone	North Carolina University
	(Chemistry, Materials, Pharmacology)	
2013	Karl Deisseroth	Stanford University
	(Bioengineering, Behavioral Sciences)	
2012	François M.M. Morel	Princeton University
	(Geoscience)	
2011	Marvin L. Cohen	University of California,
	(Physics)	Berkeley
2010	David A. Tirrell	California Institute of
	(Chemistry)	Technology
2009	Saul Perlmutter	Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
	(Astrophysics)	
2008	Richard M. Karp	University of California,
	(Biosystems, Operating Systems, Networking)	Berkeley
2007	Jean M. J. Fréchet	University of California,
	(Organic and polymer synthetic chemistry)	Berkeley
2006	Jared Diamond	UCLA School of Public Health
	(Science writer; environmental, other)	Professor of Geography, UCLA
2005	David Haussler	University of California
	(Bioinformatics)	Santa Cruz
2004	George M. Whitesides	Harvard Univesity
	(Materials chemistry)	
2003	Marc W. Kirschner	Harvard Medical School
	(Cell biology)	
2002	Robert S. Langer	Massachusetts Institute of
	(Biomedial materials)	Technology
2001	Carver Mead	California Institute of
	(Microelectronics)	Technology
2000	Alexander Pines	University of California,
	(Chemistry; NMR)	Berkeley
1999	Howard Raiffa	Harvard University
	(Decision Sciences)	
1998	Peter Shor	AT&T Shannon Laboratory,
	(Quantum Computing)	Florham Park, New Jersey
1997	Walter Alvarez	University of California at
	(Stratigraphy and Earth History)	Berkeley
1996	John P. Hirth	Washington State University
	(Structural Defects in Phase Transformations)	
1995	Leland Hartwell	University of Washington
	(Cell Biologist)	

1994	Raymond Kurzweil	Kurzweil Technologies
	(Artificial Intelligence and Kurzweil Reader)	
1993	Vera Rubin	The Carnegie Institute of
	(Astro Physics)	Washington
1992	Paul C. Lauterbur	University of Illinois at Urbana-
	(Magnetic Resonance Imaging)	Champaign
1991	David Botstein	Stanford University
	(Genetics)	
1990	F. Sherwood Rowland	University of California at Irvine
	(Atmospheric Chemistry)	
1989	Richard E. Dickerson	University of California at Los
	(Molecular Biology)	Angeles
1988	Joan Steitz	The Yale University School of
	(Molecular BioPhysics and BioChemistry)	Medicine
1987	Mitchell Feigenbaum	Rockefeller University
	(Physics)	,
1986	Benjamin Widom	Cornell University
	(Chemical Engineering, Physics and Chemistry)	
1985	Norman Davidson	California Institute of
	(Genetics, Biology and Chemistry)	Technology
1983-84	Edward Fredkin	Massachusetts Institute of
	(Computer Science)	Technology
1982	Harden M. McConnell	Stanford University
	(Magnetic Resonance)	
1980	John Werner Cahn	U.S. Department of Commerce
	(Metallurgy)	
1978	Seymour Benzer	California Institute of
	(Genetics and Molecular Biology)	Technology
1977	John H. Sinfelt	Exxon
	(Chemical Engineering)	
1974	David M. Geiger	Geiger Berger Associates
	(Civil Engineering)	
1973	Elias J. Corey	Harvard University
	(Organic Chemistry)	
1972	Francis L. Ver Snyder	Pratt and Whitney Aircraft
	(Metallurgy)	
1971	George E. Palade	Rockefeller University
	(Cell Biology)	
1971	Keith R. Porter	University of Colorado
	(Cell Biology)	
1970	Richard Bellman	University of Southern
	(Mathematics)	California, Los Angeles