CALL FOR PAPERS

ASIAN'09

13th Annual Asian Computing Science Conference
Focusing on Information Security and Privacy: Theory and Practice
October 8-10, 2009
Xinjiang University
Urumqi, China
http://asian09.xju.edu.cn/

The ASIAN conference series provides a forum for researchers throughout Asia to present cutting-edge results in yearly-themed areas of Computer Science, to discuss advances in these fields, and to interact with researchers from other continents. The 2009 edition focuses on the theory and practice of information security and privacy, broadly construed. New theoretical and practical results in information security are welcome. Also welcome are more exploratory papers that examine open questions and identify issues with existing theories and systems. Submissions on foundational topics in logic, programming languages, and cryptography that have applications to information security are also encouraged. Possible topics include, but are not limited to the following:

Access control Data and system integrity
Database security Distributed systems security
Privacy and Anonymity Security for mobile computing
Cryptographic protocols Wireless network security
Trust and trust management Denial-of-service and prevention
Authentication Intrusion detection and avoidance

Digital rights management Digital forensics

Executable content Vulnerabilities and risk management

Language-based security Secure electronic commerce Formal methods for security Secure software engineering

Submission Instructions

Submissions must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers should be submitted in Postscript or Portable Document Format (PDF); papers submitted in a proprietary word processor format such as Microsoft Word cannot be considered. Submissions can be of two types:

- •Regular papers should describe new research results. They can be up to 15 pages long in LNCS style, including figures, bibliography and appendices.
- •Short papers are intended to report on interesting work in progress. They can be at most 7 pages long in the LNCS style.

Papers can be electronically submitted by visiting this URL: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=asian09

Prospective authors are required to register a title and an abstract a week before the paper submission deadline (see below). As with the previous editions, the proceedings of ASIAN'09 will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. They will be available at the conference.

Participation

Authors of accepted papers are required to ensure that at least one author will be present at the symposium. Papers that do not adhere to this policy will be removed from the proceedings.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline: May 20, 2009
Paper submission deadline: May 27, 2009
Notification of acceptance: July 8, 2009
Camera-ready version deadline: July 28, 2009
ASIAN 2009 conference dates: October 8-10, 2009

Chairs

Conference Chair: Jiong Yu, Xinjiang University (China)

Program Chair: Anupam Datta, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)

Local Arrangements Chair: Hasan Umar, Xinjiang University (China)

Program Committee

Michael Backes Saarland University (Germany)

Adam Barth University of California, Berkeley (USA) Lujo Bauer Carnegie Mellon University (USA)

Bruno Blanchet CNRS, Ecole Normale Supérieure & INRIA (France)

Iliano Cervesato Carnegie Mellon University (Qatar)

Stephen Chong Harvard University (USA)

Hubert Comon-Lundh LSV, CNRS & ENS de Cachan and AIST (France/Japan)

Veronique Cortier LORIA, CNRS, Nancy (France)
Anupam Datta Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Yuxi Fu Shanghai Jiaotong University (China)

Vinod Ganapathy
Masami Hagiya
Dilsun Kaynar
Steve Kremer

Rutgers University (USA)
University of Tokyo (Japan)
Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
LSV, CNRS & ENS de Cachan (France)

Ralf Kuesters University of Trier (Germany)

Sanjiva Prasad Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (India)
R. Ramanujam Institute of Mathematical Sciences (India)
Andre Scedrov University of Pennsylvania (USA)
Vitaly Shmatikov University of Texas-Austin (USA)

Kazunori Ueda Waseda University (Japan) Bogdan Warinschi University of Bristol (UK)

Liang Zhenkai National University of Singapore (Singapore)